Boys # 1: To Be Spoken Out Loud and Very Quickly

“You asked, and I said I couldn’t tell you, but I needed to somehow, so I created a dirty, pretty piece of art around the truth, singing half truths and no truths and happier endings than there’d ever really been. The words were there, but they couldn’t come out.

You asked and you asked and you wasted me, my time.

So I asked you. And I came to know everything.

You spoke, and the sounds that you made fell into my mouth and I could taste your words and your tongue and feel your hands and they burned my skin because I was afraid because I didn’t know you, because I didn’t know who you would be when I put my sounds in your mouth and let you taste them for yourself.

Because they felt like acid in me

They had scratching fingers and they clawed and clawed and clawed their way through my lungs and made it so hard to breathe.

They scratched higher and higher and higher and got stuck

In my windpipe

And they spit fire

At my esophagus.

My throat was raw and it left a rasp on my voice you told me

Was so sexy

That you wanted me

so bad

So bad

And from your mouth you threw up these ideas you had about me, your fantasy of

A sweet girl

Who just wanted you

Who would show you her chest and let you burn it with your fingers and the tobacco under your nails over and over and over because that’s all you wanted.

But she wasn’t real

You lied to yourself

So my sounds came up and I couldn’t smother them so I threw them up into your mouth and you were so quiet. You were already gone but I could feel you from miles away

Tasting them,

Rolling them over your tongue,

Chewing them

And you spit them out

And I never heard from you again.

I was fine

I am fine

BecauseIKnowNowINeverWantedYou

Leave a comment